Happy Australia Day everybody! Now I know not everyone celebrates or enjoys our nationalistic holiday of choice, but I do know what everyone enjoys! Making fun of the 80s!

Kung Fury.jpg(Are you a bad enough dude to watch this movie?)

Kung Fury is a thirty minute short movie that is absolutely saturated in everything 80s and ridiculous that you can possibly think of. Made by violent helmeted madmen in Sweden, the movie follows the baddest kung fu cop in Miami as he goes back in time to fight the worst criminal ever, ever. Adolf Hitler. Also Thor shows up for some reason.

First of all, absolutely everything in this movie is a pastiche of the 80s, its popular culture and action movies of the time. Not only that but a lot of stuff in this is pretty insane as well. I won’t spoil any of it, mostly because you wouldn’t believe me if I told you. But what I can spoil is my opinion on the movie.

It’s… okay. Nothing really too special but it’s not insultingly bad or boring. The jokes were usually good for a chuckle but there was nothing too hysterical, most likely because I’m not old enough to understand all the references and I’m not pretentious enough to pretend like I do.

I admire the lengths this movie goes with its brand of comedy and the intentionally wonky continuity of the movie, but there was something about it that just didn’t appeal to me. Maybe it was because of how short the movie was or just the fact that it lacked much else other than constant jokes about the 80s. It’s not bad for an independant movie on a shoestring budget of $600,000, but it’s really not my cup of tea. It’s free on YouTube if you want to check it out and roll in synthwave-drenched nostalgia and it won’t take up too much of your time, but for me it didn’t take up too much of my memory either.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go travel across California to save the President by winning a video game contest at Chuck E. Cheese. After I get back I should have more plot for you next time!

Leave a Reply

